The latest updates for participants in the Fairtrade University and College Award. Choose your cohort from the list below:

2020 – 2022

2019 – 2021

2018 – 2020

2017 – 2018

2020 – 2022 cohort

Applications for the 2020–2022 Fairtrade University and College Award programme are now open. Sign up at the link below before Sunday 17 January 2021.

2019 – 2021 Cohort


We are delighted to have 25 institutions across the UK working towards a Fairtrade University and College Award as part of the 2019–2021 Award cycle. If your institute is part of this award cohort, you can keep up-to-date with news and reminders by signing up to our Fairtrade University and College newsletter.

Deferral Scheme

In light of the current circumstances, it is possible to participate in our deferral scheme. If you require your audit to be deferred until Spring 2022, you can access an extra year’s participation in the scheme (2021–22) and associated support for a fee of 30% of your original programme fee under the 2019–21 cohort. Please email us at if you are interested in participating in this deferral scheme for audit in Spring 2022 instead.

2018 – 2020 Cohort


  • Arts University Bournemouth
  • Kings College London
  • London Metropolitan University
  • Middlesex University
  • Oxford Brookes University
  • Strathclyde University
  • University College London
  • University of Derby
  • University of Huddersfield
  • University of Oxford
  • University of St Andrews
  • University of Exeter


12 universities have achieved Fairtrade status in nationwide Fairtrade University and College Award

Call for case studies

Is your institution listed in the table above? If you would like to submit a case study for our website, please complete this application form and send it to

2017 – 2018 cohort


  • University of Brighton
  • Middlesex University
  • University of Oxford
  • University of Leeds
  • Walsall College
  • University of Ulster
  • The University of Edinburgh
  • Edinburgh College
  • Forth Valley College
  • University of Stirling
  • University of Wales Trinity Saint David
  • Oxford Brookes

Press releases

Fairtrade and NUS pilot new university and college award scheme