The latest updates for participants in the Fairtrade University and College Award. Choose your cohort from the list below:

2020 – 2022

2019 – 2021

2018 – 2020

2017 – 2018

2020 – 2022 cohort

Applications for the 2020–2022 Fairtrade University and College Award programme are now closed. Applications for the 2021-2023 programme will open in Autumn 2021.

New criteria

We are delighted to bring you an update regarding three new criteria introduced to the Fairtrade University and College Award programme for 2020-2022. These are optional criteria and sit within the Research and Curriculum area of the Award programme. 

First, we are offering teaching staff at your institution the opportunity to join the new Fairtrade Directory of Supporting Academics. This directory provides the details of academic staff who have a research interest related to Fairtrade. This professional development position may involve guiding students on Fairtrade research topics, collaborating with other researchers in the field and building a stronger network of Fairtrade expertise across the UK. Joining the Directory will fulfil criterion RC007. 

Second, partnerships are encouraged to connect their work on Fairtrade with decolonising its curriculum, by providing students with more opportunities to learn through the lens of producers. Providing students with these opportunities will fulfil criterion RC008. 

Finally, if a partnership has commenced or completed the process of validating a module specialising in the topic of Fairtrade, ethical consumption and trade justice, this will fulfil criterion RC009. 

Join the Network

Networking with other institutions signed up to the Award is a fantastic way to inspire and inform your work on Fairtrade. Email Jo Williamson at to join the Fairtrade University Networking Group. To keep up-to-date with news and reminders from the Fairtrade University and College Award team, sign up to our Fairtrade University and College newsletter.

2019 – 2021 Cohort

Toolkit Deadline

Institutions enrolled on the 2019-2021 will be audited in May 2021. A reminder that all 11 mandatory criteria need to be completed to be awarded Fairtrade University status by the toolkit submission deadline of Sunday 18 April. Due to the pandemic, all audits will take place remotely.

Student Auditor Recruitment

The audit will be student-led and then moderated by the staff team. Please see the role description here for you to promote to students. The deadline is Sunday 18 April for applications from students. Successful candidates will be enrolled on remote training.

Deferral Scheme

In light of the current circumstances, it is possible to participate in our deferral scheme. If you require your audit to be deferred until Spring 2022, you can access an extra year’s participation in the scheme (2021–22) and associated support for a fee of 30% of your original programme fee under the 2019–21 cohort. Please email us at if you are interested in participating in this deferral scheme for audit in Spring 2022 instead.

2018 – 2020 Cohort


  • Arts University Bournemouth
  • Kings College London
  • London Metropolitan University
  • Middlesex University
  • Oxford Brookes University
  • Strathclyde University
  • University of Worcester (2018-2019 only)
  • University College London
  • University of Derby
  • University of Huddersfield
  • University of Oxford
  • University of St Andrews
  • University of Exeter
  • Nottingham Trent University (2018-2019 only)


12 universities have achieved Fairtrade status in nationwide Fairtrade University and College Award

Call for case studies

Is your institution listed in the table above? If you would like to submit a case study for our website, please complete this application form and send it to Check out this case study on Middlesex University for inspiration.

2017 – 2018 Pilot cohort


  • University of Brighton
  • Middlesex University
  • University of Oxford
  • University of Leeds
  • Walsall College
  • University of Ulster
  • The University of Edinburgh
  • Edinburgh College
  • Forth Valley College
  • University of Stirling
  • University of Wales Trinity Saint David
  • Oxford Brookes

Press releases

Fairtrade and NUS pilot new university and college award scheme